Behringer SRC2496 A/D D/A with THS4032

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello to all!

First of all I am a newbie that requires all the help I could get!

I've been trying to mod my cheap Behringer SRC2496
http://www.behringer.com/SRC2496/index.cfm?lang=ENG

It is a very cheap A/D and D/A converter that goes up to 96K, cool device to experiment on.

Starting with the mod, I replaced the lousy chinese transformer with a proper toroidal.
Next was to change the lousy PSU caps. replaced 2x1000uF with 2x3300uF and 1x440uF with 1x1000uf, all Panasonic FC.

All great till here.

Next step was replacing 6x NJM4580 in the DAC/ADC stage and 2x in the phones and gain section. Searching a bit in this forum gave me the impression that a good replacement would be THS4032 for all of those 8x 4580s.

I replaced them and ended up with a kind of positive result. The unit is still working and the sound is SOOOOO OPEN, wide and punchy, I was shocked!!! But I have an overheating problem on all of those 8x THS4032. The opamps get so hot after 2mins that you can't touch them. Overvoltage should not the problem here because the device operates at +-15V. I guess that there is an oscillation going on because at high volumes I get lots of different weird ZZZZZ sounds that are very dependent even on the movement of my hand approaching the cirquit. Also the feeling of the pots are kind of strange, it's like they are faulty or something, I hear strange noises while rotating them. After that I swapped the old opamps back in, every negative aspect disappeared.

By doing a little measuring, I could draw the schematics around the opamps on paper. I could scan them and post them if needed.

Without having adequate knowledge, I guess that the problem starts at the decoupling of the voltage pins that are as follows:

Pins 4 and 8 > 100n > GND
Pins 4 and 8 > 22 Ohm >100uF > GND