Building the ultimate NOS DAC using TDA1541A

Tiime was when I would have felt obliged to the show you two the error of your ways as others have done for me for no other reason than they were able to but these days I can't be bothered.
Having done this stuff professionally, I'd like to think I have some idea of what I am doing but if you two think you are right and I am wrong, good luck to you.
Okay then, rfbrw, I know you can't be bothered to 'teach us a lesson', but purely in the interests of spreading knowledge and understanding (think of it so that we all become somewhat wiser and run less risk of frustrating you), could you explain how a DAC output behaves?

Now, when I studied this for my electronics degree (which I have used professionally ever since) about ten years ago, I was of the understanding that once a digital value has been latched into its input, after some settling time, the analogue output is held at a particular level that represents the input digital symbol.
This output level is present and (ideally) doesn't change until the next symbol is latched for that channel (i.e. for approximately the sample period, minus settling time).
With this 'staircase output', it is regarded the job of the output antialias filter to remove the aliasing higher frequencies present, and essentially smooth this out. I can't remember the name, but there is an ideal impulse response that a filter can have that will allow a perfect sine to be reproduced with just two sample points (i.e. a 22kHz sinewave).

What part of that have I misunderstood? Its very possible, so please tell me.

And besides, I wasn't in anyway disproving you, I was specifying what I believed to be the case, in my opinion.
Getting angry with others because they have different knowledge and opinions doesn't help anyone, especially yourself.

Regards,
Phil
P.S. And I really do envy you if you have time to build stuff. I've got loads I want to build!

Re: 2 sample response