Building the ultimate NOS DAC using TDA1541A - Page 466 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th November 2012, 12:28 PM   #4651
diyAudio Member

Default CD PRO question

Hi guys,
while I'm studying TDA1541 and SAA7324 timing I have a question.
I own 1 CD PRO2M module, 1 TDA1541 S1 and 1 8.4762MHz ultra low phase noise OCXO. I play 44.1/16 bit material only, so I would like to put all in a box to build a simple integrated CD player. I would like to use the same OCXO either for the transport than for the DAC chip. I'll take I2S signal directly from CD PRO to feed TDA1541.
The CD PRO uses SAA7324 as servo/decoder to output I2S; there is a poor 8.4762MHz crystal on the board I want replace with OCXO clock. it seems SAA7324 is configured to provide 2 words of 24 bit at 4fs, so BCK is exactly 8.4672MHz (24*2*4*44.1), so I think I can remove the crystal and inject the clock coming from OCXO.
About TDA1541, I would like to implement it in NOS mode, so my question:
is it right to divide OCXO clock by 4 (2.1168MHz) for DAC chip BCK?

Andrea
Old 27th November 2012, 02:02 PM   #4652
JOSI1 is offline JOSI1  Germany
diyAudio Member

Hello Andrea,

it is right to divide OCXO clock by 4 (2.1168MHz) for DAC chip BCK.
If your OCXO has 2 clock outputs use one for the divider by 4 and the other via an inverting/non-inverting buffer for the SAA7324 clock input (do not exceed 3.3V level).
Take care that the SAA7324 doesn't output the I2S-signals with a fixed phase relation
to the 8.4762MHz input clock (there are 3 or 4 posible phases after power up).
So it can happen that you have re-power the CD-Pro until you get a correct audio signal.
Old 27th November 2012, 02:49 PM   #4653
diyAudio Member

Josi1,
thanks for reply.
Quote: