Building the ultimate NOS DAC using TDA1541A - Page 420 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th February 2012, 11:49 AM   #4191
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by erin View Post
Bernhard, I read many of your threads and posts where you complain about the performance of various DAC chips. Please advise which DAC chip(s) you do like? It will be enlightening for all concerned.
Thanks
With my favourite PCM56, passive I/V is possible and 50% of chips have very good low level thd after adjustment.

Other DAC chips do not allow passive I/V, or 9 out of 10 have bad low level thd.
Maybe PCM61 or some AD chips like 1865 are an alternative.

I have no experience with modern chips because I stay with non oversampling.
Old 15th February 2012, 12:17 PM   #4192
diyAudio Member

Bernard, Though very OT by now, why did you not mention PCM63 or is that in your category of bad low level thd?
Quote:
With PCM63P, the low-noise steps are clearly defined and
increase in near-perfect proportion. This performance is
achieved without any external adjustments. By contrast,
sigma-delta (“Bitstream”, “MASH”, or 1-bit DAC) architectures
are too noisy to even see the first 3 or 4 bits change (at
16 bits), other than by a change in the noise level.
(PCM63 brochure) Funny what they say of the streaming bits at that time a hype.
Old 15th February 2012, 12:22 PM   #4193
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernhard View Post
With my favourite PCM56, passive I/V is possible and 50% of chips have very good low level thd after adjustment.

Other DAC chips do not allow passive I/V, or 9 out of 10 have bad low level thd.
Maybe PCM61 or some AD chips like 1865 are an alternative.