Building the ultimate NOS DAC using TDA1541A - Page 412 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th January 2012, 09:47 AM   #4111
galeb is offline galeb  Spain
diyAudio Member

Hi,

Respect to the output stage, just an impression. I've been testing for several months all the resistors available on the market, at least, all the ones that I could buy. I'm currently using the brand Takman, carbon series of 0,25w for all the positions of the circuit. Please, do use complete aikido design, it works incredible fine. I/V resistor is extremely important, it gives the final and correct character to the DAC. I'm using 39 ohms for th I/V. These resistors made the noise to quasi completely dissapeared, gave a neutral tone, correct bass, sweet voices, and ver very fine highs, after some hours of use. I use 6N2P and 6H23. I still have to test 12AX7 vs 6N2P, but for now, it works very fine. I'm using too 4x"duende criatura" rings for the tubes. I'm using for the output cap "oil Vcap", 4x4,7uf. I'm bourning now a pair of Clarity caps of 10uf ESA series and a pair of 4,7uf MR series to test them late, in some days. Supply voltage is 200vdc, choque filtered. Be very careful with the wire you use to connect all this. I use VDH D102 MKIII, the internal wires. A new stage of silence is obtained.

Hope this helps someone.
Old 9th January 2012, 11:30 AM   #4112
diyAudio Member

Thanks for sharing Galeb.

Have you tried John's self-made resistors?
Old 9th January 2012, 11:44 AM   #4113
diyAudio Member