Need RPi GPIO output of sample-rate

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I would like to output two or three bits of encoded sample-rate of the track playing to the GPIO's of the Raspberry Pi, but I am not a programmer and I don't know if this information is a variable that can be pulled from DietPi or not.

I believe I already have one bit that distinguishes 44.1/88.2/176.4 and 48/96/192 from Digi boards, so I need the other two bits.

Is this difficult. Can anyone write the code?

Thanks

So, you are using a hifiberry digi+ or another alsa output?
For alsa devices, the actual samplerate is shown in this file
Code:
LibreELECpi2:~ # cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
access: RW_INTERLEAVED
format: S24_LE
subformat: STD
channels: 2
rate: 44100 (44100/1)
period_size: 2205
buffer_size: 8820
LibreELECpi2:~ #
I don't know dietPi, but you may use python or shell with wiringPi to monitor this file, scan the rate line then set GPIOs accordingly.

Last edited:
So, you are using a hifiberry digi+ or another alsa output?
For alsa devices, the actual samplerate is shown in this file
Code:
LibreELECpi2:~ # cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
access: RW_INTERLEAVED
format: S24_LE
subformat: STD
channels: 2
rate: 44100 (44100/1)
period_size: 2205
buffer_size: 8820
LibreELECpi2:~ #
I don't know dietPi, but you may use python or shell with wiringPi to monitor this file, scan the rate line then set GPIOs accordingly.

Cool. I will give this a try manually. I need someone to write the code to scan this and output to GPIOs. This would need to be incorporated into a non-volatile SD image, or made easy for me to just add a patch to the image once it's running, if that is possible.

I can try wiringPi first to see if I can do it myself. No sure they have instructions for scanning this file and then setting the appropriate bits though. I'm a novice at software. I'm a hardware designer.