DIY Audio Recorder

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
There are quite a few out there that could do that.

I am new at it, but I am planning on building a digital multi-track system as my main goal as well.

If you just want to record and playback this won't take a lot of MCU power.

I found a really cool 16bit quad delay project using three MCU's from Microchip here,

Seb's Synth-DIY Pages - 4xD

One is used for house keeping and one for each two channels of audio.

There is also some sample audio files on the page of the device and it sounds very impressive!!!

The web page shows everything and it is all open source and has all of the needed software files and schematics with board layouts.
I just found it about two weeks ago!!

I just last week got a ST32F4-Discovery Kit, it has a 32F429 ARM Cortex4 180Mhz MCU from ST on it, as well as a 800x600 TFT display that is also touch controlled.
And It only cost about $33!!!

STM32F429ZI High-performance and DSP with FPU, ARM Cortex-M4 MCU with 2 Mbytes Flash, 180 MHz CPU, Art Accelerator, SDRAM, TFT - STMicroelectronics

Here is the link to the board,

32F429IDISCOVERY Discovery kit for STM32 F429/439 lines - with STM32F429ZI MCU - STMicroelectronics

Once you start getting into the 32bit MCU's you need to know C and that is where I am at right now, trying to learn C.

I think that such a system could be made using one of Microchips super fast 16bit MCU's as well.
I have a quite few of those too, but, as I said I am just stating at this.

I think my first attempt will be a 8 channel 12bit system with just a few parts in order to get the hang of everything.

Then do a 16 bit version and then graduate on to the 32bit MCU's and 24bit data.

I chose parts that have the most ram and flash I could as well as the highest speeds in the 8 and 16 bit versions.

The 16bit versions I have does 70mips and also has a DSP built into in it as a well.