Replace digital audio processors with a digital equalizer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Digital Audio processors are expensive. I have an idea to reduce cost but not sure if it is a good idea. Please consider me as a newbie. Can I do the tuning on the DSP first and after I have got the right settings, map these settings to a cheaper digital equalizer IC?

I am a newbie and am not sure as to how practical this idea can be implemented. Can some expert advise?

Thank you.

I rather suspect room EQ is demanding on computational resources so would need to be done with a fairly capable DSP chip - meaning lots of MMACs. But it does rather depend on your aspirations - some say that room EQ is best left to the lower frequencies only, in which case if you run a digital XO and decimate the LF output then you can run a very long filter without much CPU sweat. I'm very doubtful there'd be single ICs which do this but capable DSPs nowdays are surprisingly cheap. You could easily run a long filter in this manner on an LPC43XX (204MHz) which go for under $10.

I rather suspect room EQ is demanding on computational resources so would need to be done with a fairly capable DSP chip - meaning lots of MMACs. But it does rather depend on your aspirations - some say that room EQ is best left to the lower frequencies only, in which case if you run a digital XO and decimate the LF output then you can run a very long filter without much CPU sweat. I'm very doubtful there'd be single ICs which do this but capable DSPs nowdays are surprisingly cheap. You could easily run a long filter in this manner on an LPC43XX (204MHz) which go for under $10.