diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Digital Line Level (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/digital-line-level/)
-   -   quick question about Behringer DCX2496 (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/digital-line-level/229307-quick-question-about-behringer-dcx2496.html)

oldies 4th February 2013 06:28 AM

quick question about Behringer DCX2496

I'm new to 2496. I'm building XLR > XLR and XLR > RCA cable. I don't know I should solder them in stereo mode or mono. any help is much much appreciated :o soldering iron is hot so a faster reply is a big favor :D

jan.didden 4th February 2013 06:37 AM

I don't understand the question. A cable carries one signal, a DCX output is balanced XLR which you can also use unbalanced (single ended) RCA. The DCX has 6 outputs for 3-way stereo (or less).
Do you mean balanced/unbalanced instead of stereo/mono?

jan

oldies 4th February 2013 07:07 AM

I don't know what is the difference :( if there is two RCAs at one end, it should be stereo. aint it?

tomtom 4th February 2013 07:36 AM

Yes two RCA /and two XLR/ make stereo pair. You also probably need to lower output level. Simple two resitor lpad that you can solder inside RCA conector is enough.

oldies 4th February 2013 07:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomtom (Post 3355133)
Yes two RCA /and two XLR/ make stereo pair. You also probably need to lower output level. Simple two resitor lpad that you can solder inside RCA conector is enough.

Uh thanks, where can I find more info about resistor values? any picture of XLR to RCA wiring?

marce 4th February 2013 12:24 PM

I would buy ready made cables initialy it may be safer.

jan.didden 4th February 2013 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldies (Post 3355115)
I don't know what is the difference :( if there is two RCAs at one end, it should be stereo. aint it?

Do you understand that in stereo you have two separate signals for the left and right side speaker?