Why worry about the digital source?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
in the last months I've been reading a lot about digital sources and related issues, I've also been arguing with some enthusiasts of the CMP2 system.

I'm not an expert, so I could have misunderstood something, but here is what I think about how a D/A converter should work:
(1) store the input data in a buffer
(2) generate a clock signal
(3) make a conversion of the stored data using the internally generated clock

If things were as simple as that, as long as the digital source provides a bit-perfect digital stream, any other variable (i.e. the jitter of the stream) should be irrelevant.

Instead, we're reading a lot of threads about:
- differences between digital buses and interfaces (USB vs. Firewire vs. S/PDIF coax vs. S/PDIF optical)
- differences on the source hardware (with a lot of computer optimization efforts)
- differences on the source software (when it is a computer)

So, how can all this make sense?

If there's the tecnology to obtain a result which is not dependent on the digital source, why aren't enthusiasts going after it, spending time on a lot of optimizations of their computers, instead?

What's the problem with the currently available technologies?

Thank you to anyone will help me answer this question ;)

(1) store the input data in a buffer
(2) generate a clock signal
(3) make a conversion of the stored data using the internally generated clock

One small missing piece is the synchronisation between your input data buffer and wherever your data is coming from. If you have asynch USB or feed the source with your DAC clock, you are OK, otherwise you have to do something about the end-to-end synchronisation issue.