AD1865 schematic

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
1) I notice that the S/PDIF input transformers don't appear to have a D.C. blocking capacitor in series with their primaries. Unless you are sure that your transport's S/PDIF output signal contains no D.C. component, this omission may be distorting (adding jitter to) the received signal.

2) I have some experience with the AD1865 in the Vout configuration. While the sound is okay that way, in my opinion, it's much better in the Iout configuration via a passive resistor I/V (of as high as 330 ohms). The resulting signal voltage can be A.C. coupled (without an intervening active stage) to your linestage input.

10nF to 100nF should be fine for coupling the S/PDIF transformers. Ideally, caps. featuring low parasitic inductance, such as SMD ceramics, are to be preferred since this signal is wideband. Although, I've used both 22nF NP0/C0G ceramics and 10nF film & foil polypropylene with equal success. I must add that I've not before seen a paralleled dual transformer configuration utilized here, I assume there must be a good reason the designer chose to do so. Perhaps, it's an attempt to produce a composite transformer having a wider bandwidth than either one alone, I'm not sure.

The Iout schematic appears fine to me. All one would need then do is A.C. couple (via a quality capacitor) the resulting signal voltage to a linestage. The DAC signal should be large enough that not much gain would likely be required while the output impedence would be just under 200 ohms, together eliminating the need for the usual DAC active output stage.

Last edited: