Retro fitting a USB DAC into a pre-amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, first of all I'd bette explain that I am a complete novice to this type of thing.

I have a Cambridge Audio C500/P500 Pre/Power Amp combination that has served me well over the past decade. However, my music collection is now stored on hard drive (lossless format) and accessed via a purpose built (well, assembled anyway) media centre PC.

I wish to put together and install a usb DAC into the C500 pre-amp to allow a direct source feed from the PC. It would tap into one of the now redundant original line level inputs

I have seen numerous circuit board DACs advertised on eBay for not a lot that would appear to do the job and am looking to see if I can integrate something similar into my amp, though perhaps using better quality components as necessary.

Does this sound viable? As I said, I am a novice and don't yet even know what the circuitry may require.

Below are some photos of the inside of the C500 to show what there is to play with. I have so far failed to find any schematics, though I have just contacted the manufacturer but I'm not holding my breath!

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I look forward to any replies. All help and guidance will be much appreciated.

Cheers. :)

I have found the following item on the Bay:

DAC-WOW USB POWERED HIGH PERFORMANCE DAC FOR YOUR PC | eBay

A lot of the cheap options don't appear to have there own power supply, relying instead on the power supply from the USB. Is this ok or are these types all a bit micky-mouse?

I'm a little concerned that it'll either struggle to do the job satisfactorily or that I'll start getting noise interference from the computer supplied power through the usb.

Cheers.

Administrator