Musical Fidelity V-DAC2 - opamp comaptibility - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th June 2012, 01:47 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Musical Fidelity V-DAC2 - opamp comaptibility

I'm wondering if anyone can help with selecting a compatible op-amp, or give guidance on re-working the loading around the op-amps, in the V-DAC2? I've done some Op-amp rolling, but i'm no depth expert on compatibility - i'm an enthusiastic DIYer. Here's what i've done:

Original Musical Fidelity spec in the circuit is a 4-channel 33079 (ST Electronics) followed by a 2-channel 33078 (ST Electronics).

First I replaced the DC Blocking caps by the RCA outputs: 47uF SMD with Nichicon ES 470uF Electrolytics (there is just room inside the case!).

Then to the opamps: I replaced the 2-channel 33078 ouput opamp with 2 x OPA827 on a Browndog. Lovely improvement in detail, whilst keeping the 'musicality'.

Then I got excited and replaced the 4-channel 33079 with an LME49740. But the bass just disappeared - almost like a low frequency filter. Really not sure why (could it be the larger current requirement of the 49740 at 18.5mA, versus the 8mA of the 33079?). So I switched the 49740 to an OPA1644. Bass came back with good detail and spaciousness. However, over time (i.e. a few hours) the sound became relatively fatiguing. Seemed tight and clinical - it lacked the musical warmth, despite representing instruments accurately.