Build Thread for TPA BIII + Ian Async I2S FIFO + OPC NTD1 + Salas SSLV - Page 41 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd January 2013, 11:22 PM   #401
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Adrculda Send a message via Yahoo to Adrculda
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpandahk View Post
Yes, those are AC.

See here INTRO H i F i D U I N O you will have most of the information.

I modified the code to include the power on/off function. DQ828 had demonstrated how to control the backlight LED Build Thread for TPA BIII + Ian Async I2S FIFO + OPC NTD1 + Salas SSLV
Great !!
Thanks for the info
Now to do a lil research...

Thinking ipod interface and/or HDMI switch with that will allow me to pull the spdif stream. There's a few available on ebay and could most likely make it work with the HiFiDuino

If i do go with the switch option then I will opt for the 8Ch version of the BIII and 4x Legato's set up for balanced and single ended mode
__________________
Regards,
Adrian

Last edited by Adrculda; 3rd January 2013 at 11:52 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 08:30 AM   #402
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Test the Amanero again, thanks for syklab borrows his Amanero to me so that I can confirm all the wiring and setting are correct.

My Amanero suddenly come to alive again. I resolder the Mod to Amanero, but no sound when using the re-clocked BCLK. Check TTL level at all the 74 pins and confirmed pin 1, 4 and 14 are Vcc, pin 7 to gnd, pin 2 & 3 have clk, but not output at pin 5 & 6.

Since both the BCLK and clock signal from oscillator are not TTL, how can the 74 work?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F0000TEK.JPG (83.6 KB, 310 views)

Last edited by bigpandahk; 6th January 2013 at 08:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 05:59 PM   #403
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Adrculda Send a message via Yahoo to Adrculda
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpandahk View Post
primary 2x115V Secondary:6V 1.25A x 2, 12V 1.25A x 2, 5V 1A x 4, 9V 1.5A x1
I just thought of this...
Wouldn't be easier to have 2 separate transformers ??

The digital circuits fed from 6VAC and regulated to 5VDC and 3.3VDC.
The analog I/V Stage fed from 15VAC and regulated to 15VDC
This way the digital circuits can stay on and put into "sleep" mode while the analog line stage can be all together turned off.
__________________
Regards,
Adrian
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 06:10 PM   #404
qusp is offline qusp  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
qusp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
its never easier to have 2 transformers in a build of this size/complexity
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 09:32 PM   #405
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Adrculda Send a message via Yahoo to Adrculda
Quote:
Originally Posted by qusp View Post
its never easier to have 2 transformers in a build of this size/complexity

Last time I called for a custom toroid to get would for my monoblocks i was qouted $1200 / Toroid !!!

Hence, from that point on I always tend to use off the shelf units.
The units i was going to use are from Antek are AS2215 and AS1206.
A bit overkill for stereo setup, but to power multiple I/V sections and headphone amp for the bipolar supply, and for the rest of the digital and analog 5V supplies will be split. Separate regulated 5V and 3.3V supplies will be fed analog and digital sections.
__________________
Regards,
Adrian
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 09:52 PM   #406
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Yes, The custom toroid is for digital circuit and have another two from Antek for the NTD1, but you are correct that I need another one just for the Arduino.

Custom made toroid in China is much cheaper and with good quality. You can even custom R-core transformer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 09:54 PM   #407
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Adrian,

We had a similar discussion a while back. If you have a look around post #305 in this thread you might find some discussion of interest

The point is that for the NTD1 alone there are 2 x antek transformers you would need. Then separate secondary + regulators for each critical sub-circuit you can easily end up wanting far more than 4 secondary windings. For low power stuff a custom unit is no where near the price you're indicating and if you try to use 3 to 5 transformers you quickly end up with trouble fitting the little critters neatly into any reasonable enclosure.


Chris
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 02:59 AM   #408
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Adrculda Send a message via Yahoo to Adrculda
Whats NTD1 ??
I googled it and found nothing on it...
__________________
Regards,
Adrian
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 03:02 AM   #409
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
NTD1 is an IV stage - it is a design by opc based on the Pass Labs D1 New Take D1 became NTD1.

Its power supply is full dual mono and uses 1 secondary per 'phase' of the balanced signal.

It has a thread here - A New Take on the Classic Pass Labs D1 with an ESS Dac
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 03:36 AM   #410
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to Adrculda Send a message via Yahoo to Adrculda
Quote:
Originally Posted by hochopeper View Post
NTD1 is an IV stage - it is a design by opc based on the Pass Labs D1 New Take D1 became NTD1.

Its power supply is full dual mono and uses 1 secondary per 'phase' of the balanced signal.

It has a thread here - A New Take on the Classic Pass Labs D1 with an ESS Dac
Ummm...
No thanks LOL
Most likely will end up using the Legato Schematic, but instead pile 8Ch onto one larger board.
I'm attempting to have all 16ch wired up and functional for Balanced and SE outputs. 2ch will draw about 500mA, so 8ch will draw about 4x that... A whooping 2A !! and for 16ch should be about 4A !!

Anyways..
I'm gonna stop littering this thread and Start my own..
__________________
Regards,
Adrian
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asynchronous I2S FIFO project, an ultimate weapon to fight the jitter iancanada Digital Line Level 3428 Today 06:51 PM
Ian asynchronous I2S and S/PDIF FIFO KIT group buy iancanada Group Buys 1654 Yesterday 05:29 AM
FS Quanghao SSLV Salas design merlin el mago Swap Meet 12 17th August 2012 02:06 AM
F.S quanghao salas sslv 1.0 for buffalo dac. back Swap Meet 1 31st July 2012 02:32 AM
Simple FIFO to I2S CPLD, for MCU players / reclocking KOON3876 Digital Line Level 21 19th September 2008 04:00 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:44 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2