Tell me about USB DAC's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am just getting into digital audio from a quality sound system point of view and I am looking to be able to understand some of the technology available to the general public.

I have read some information (not specs) but just general information and of course that peaked my interest in learning more.

Right now, my set up is this....I have an AudioSource AMP-100 Stereo Power Amplifier, ADC SS100-SL 10 band Graphic EQ, and a decent set of Harvard 3 way speakers that will be fed from a windows pc with vista.

I was reading that you get a cleaner (?) source from the PC through a USB cable into a DAC... and that this will by-pass the onboard sound card? Is this correct?
If it is in fact how this operates, would i need software that directs the sound through the USB cable? Would i play my audio files through my media player or would i also need a specific player? I currently have winamp pro that i play all my FLAC's through, but could/would change to another software package if need be.

Any information would greatly be appreciated...
Thanks,
Joonze

PS. I also have a few questions in a post in the PC Based Forum if you can help with those questions too.

Thanks for your reply.... i checked out the link provided and its very technical. Informative, but with all the acronyms its hard to follow since i don't know they mean. Is there a place, forum for dummies, or some very basic information that you might point me towards that will get me up to speed?
I have read several post over that past day or two, any this seems like a very friendly and helpful forum...I am looking to learn from a great group of audio enthusiast...

I just started doing something similar.
I have a laptop with Vista and a USB dac..........

MUSE USB to Optical S/PDIF Converter DAC DTS External Sound Card | eBay