Cheap replacement output stage for old Chinese CD player? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th April 2012, 08:58 PM   #1
jjne is offline jjne  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Cheap replacement output stage for old Chinese CD player?

OK, apologies for the complete newbie question here.

I have an old Chinese CD/VCD player. It works perfectly, and the digital components inside look as if they're fairly good quality (Sony transport and laser mechanism, and what looks like a fairly standard ESS-based DAC/servo chipset which is screwed as a separate PCB to the right of the chassis.

This player is sat unused, and I have a use for it now as it's a specific size (small) and the alternative would be to buy in a bookshelf hifi system for the kitchen (which I'm not prepared to do).

My aim is to use this as the basis for a audio/video system, using a Raspberry Pi to stream audio to an amplifier (both mounted inside the player) and video to a computer monitor sat on top of it.

Now -- the problem. Although the digital stage looks good, this thing is let down very badly by an appallingly bad analogue stage. It has an all-in-one audio/video/power/amplifier board toward the rear. The sound quality from the phono jacks isn't offensive but the noise floor is very high, and the less said about the amplifier stage the better (turn the volume to zero and there is still a loud hiss from the speakers, along with mechanical and signal noise coming through). So all that has to go.