Dacmagic1 after upgrade. Some advice please. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th April 2012, 01:08 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Dacmagic1 after upgrade. Some advice please.

I recently upgraded a dacmagic1, replacing the below items. I was wondering if someone would be able to take a look at what i have replaced so far.

Im new to modifying audio, and would really appreciate some feedback as to where i may have gone wrong, and, or, where i may improve on what i have done to date.

The 2 opa2604ap opamps were replaced with lm4562na into 8 pin gold plated sockets.

All caps were replaced with same values. As follows:

14x 100uf 10v Vishay OS-CON organic polymer capacitors for to replace the existing electrolytics

10x 3300 uf 25v Panasonic FC to replace the existing smoothing electrolytics.

4 x nichichon FG to replace the existing 47uf 16v on the opamps

6 x nichicon KW 2200uf 16v caps

10 x nichicon KT caps 10uf 35v

I have heard a difference after the mods, But before i go any further i would like to make sure there are no problems with what i have done to date. I do feel it sounds a bit harsh at times, and the bottom end sounds a bit wooly. I wonder if i have introduced an issue somewhere with the oscons, or opamp change, or elsewhere.

I was considering buying a scope, but don't have much experience using one, not sure if it would be a waste of time and money at this stage.

Could post some pics of the mods done if it would help

Thanks
Old 13th April 2012, 01:33 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Try some extra 0.1uF decoupling on each OpAmps power rails. Pin 4 to GND and pin 8 to GND.
Old 13th April 2012, 11:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNic_real_one View Post