Can you make a Dacmagic 1 Magic? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th March 2012, 12:22 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Can you make a Dacmagic 1 Magic?

Ive just managed to buy a Dacmagic 1 on ebay for a very cheap price, and have been searching the web for some possible upgrade/modification routes that may be available for this early model.

My electronics skills are pretty good but unfortunately when it comes to designing circuitry im a noob, so building my own dac is not going to happen until i have learned how to.....im hoping it wont be too long.....before retirement would be nice

Meanwhile, I have been looking for a budget first dac project to get my teeth into, and had hoped that the Dacmagic 1 would make a good starting point for modification

After scouring the web for hours i have found a wealth of information for the MK2 upwards , but cant even find a service manual for the Dacmagic 1.

Could anyone tell me where i may able to obtain a schematic, or even better the service manual for this model. Have hit a dead end where that is concerned

Finally....Has anyone has had any success modding the Dacmagic 1?
Old 15th March 2012, 12:11 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Please help folks

Got the Dac and sounds great. Made a big difference.....But i really want to modify it. Im sure it can sound better

Anyone got a DacMagic 1 service manual. Even spoke to CA and they dont have it.

Amy help would be much appreciated.
Old 17th March 2012, 11:07 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

I spent many hours modding a Dac Magic 2 and it did improve it noticeably but was the effort worth it - no. It did give me good experience in modding so in that respect it was worthwhile.