dir9001 problems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all!

Im having problems with the attached circuit based on the DIR9001 96kHz s/pdif receiver from Texas. Problem is that xaudio=0 and error=1 all the time no matter what.

This is only kind of proof of concept and not nearly a final solution so there's no decoupling caps and I'm using the same vcc/vdd and dgnd/agnd respectively.

Can you see anything obviously wrong with the attached circuit?

Attachments

• dir9001.GIF
    dir9001.GIF
    12.3 KB · Views: 558
Again sorry, there were more typos with the other caps - here's my currently updated schematics. I'm a total noob at this and it's my first time ever using Eagle.

The reason for the two paralleled caps making for 69nF together and two resistors adding up to 692R in series is that I didn't have the proper values - are these close enough, you think?

Attached is also a picture of the soldering, looks ok?

Attachments

• dir9001.GIF
    dir9001.GIF
    18.8 KB · Views: 456
  • dir9001_lodning.JPG
    dir9001_lodning.JPG
    83.5 KB · Views: 549
Thank you, the first schematic is new to me so I tried that without any luck though. The second is from the datasheet which I based my own schematic on.

Regretfully, it seems I'm facing bad soldering or a broken chip. I soldered @ approx 350 celcius and afterwards I noticed from specs that the chip can withstand a max of 260 for 5 seconds...

Thanks for all your help guys!

Joined 2009
Paid Member
On your schematic it looks like C1 is shorted, but I assume that that is not the case.
You don't describe what the distance is from your supply to the IC, but I strongly suggest to add bypass capacitors on the supply pins. Preferably very close to the IC.

hi hanzibal,

did you fix the problem? does your DIR9001 work?

I'm a having quite the same problem... error = 1