Ideal I-V Converter stage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, i'm new to audio electronics in a sense, i'm currently studying I-V Converters for my first DAC which employs a PCM2707 and PCM1704, similar to that of many designs i've seen around here. I know I could buy someone elses PCB and simply solder the components, but I rather build it from scratch.

I've read that negative feedback op-amps are a bad choice (cant remember why), could someone enlighten me on this?
Personally, i'd for the I-V stage, i'd rather use discrete components such as a BJT, zener etc rather than opamps, just because the study of the internals can be done more comprehensively.

What are desired output characteristics of the voltage gain, snr etc?
And what nth order LPF is applicable? The higher the order (from memory), will reduce the gain, but increase the effectiveness of the LPF.

So therefore, i'm gathering the I-V stage should output a voltage gain with proportion to the order of LPF?

I know theres a few ambiguous questions here, but i'm just looking at peoples views, any help / discussion is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks,
Olmeister

> theres a few ambiguous questions here

Yes, but basically if you want to build discrete and no feedback, you need a current conveyor with low input impedance to convey the current to a IV converting resistor. Once you get voltage, the filtering is a matter of personal taste, and depends on your source. How much voltage ? 2Vrms is standard. That you can change by simply changing the value of the R_iv.

You can have a look at the SEN circuit or the modified Hawsford IV circuit that I published earlier.

Patrick