Opinions on AD1955 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th December 2011, 01:21 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Opinions on AD1955

I've been looking at build a decent DAC, but I am still a newbie to DIY electronics. I found this on eBay (based on an AD1955):

Finished DIR9001 AD1955 (MK3A) DAC &Transformer in Case | eBay

This is in my price range, and given my capability, a decent start to DIY. Anyone have any opinions on the setup?
Old 8th December 2011, 01:53 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Judging only from the photos and description (a schematic is necessary to really assess) , this appears to be decent design, and a decent value given the price for what is an assembled product with case and power supply.

The AD1955 is Analog Devices' current top-of-line DAC chip - although many of their own high-end customers seem to disagree about that. I'm not a fan of the DIR9001 digital input reciever. I do see liberal use of what appear to be film type capacitors, which is a good thing. While the analog stage op-amps aren't listed, it appears the vendor had the foresight to mount them in sockets so to facilitate op-amp "rolling". If you choose to purchase this DAC, I would suspect that you will be able to improve the sound simply by experimenting with different op-amps.