Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th September 2011, 04:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Novice DAC Repair help

Hi, so I'm pretty new to this whole diy thing and I need help identifying a part to be replaced. I started working on a Perpetual Technologies P-3A DAC to replace a few parts. I've identified a part that needs to be replaced, I just don't know what type of part it is (I'm really new to this subject) or where I can order it. I was hoping one of you could let me know what part this is. Maybe you could even tell me what part number it was. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 12th September 2011, 05:25 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

C = capacitor
Old 12th September 2011, 08:17 AM   #3
jonners is offline jonners  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

How do you know that part needs replacing when you didn't know (until just now) what it was?
Old 13th September 2011, 08:08 AM   #4
qusp is offline qusp  Australia
diyAudio Member

probably the slight scorch marks visible are some clue =) its difficult, yes indeed its a capacitor, but if its fried he cannot measure its value (if he indeed has a multimeter), although good chance its the same as the other caps surrounding it. without knowing the value its hard, its likely to be 10-100nf np0/c0g or x7r type 0805 size ceramic. np0, c0g and x7r are grades, not brands, the brand will be univportant, so if we can find the value it will be easy to find one at farnell, digikey, mouser, newark etc

Last edited by qusp; 13th September 2011 at 08:13 AM.
Old 13th September 2011, 03:12 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Looks like it's just a bypass cap.
It is not that important part.