Hifimediy direct out cs4398 DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

I want to replace the digital board of a Kora Hermes II dac (which uses a cs43122 dac chip) with a newer dac board, and I am considering this board. I want to retain the analog stage which is a ECC82 tube output stage, which I like very much, and gain some channel separation, which is basically the only complaint I have with the Kora hermes II dac, and maybe some detail. I have 2 questions:

1) does this DAC board accept 24/192 data from the coaxial input?

2) Is it practically difficult in this board to take the differential inputs directly, place a capacitor on each one (so four capacitors rather than two) and send those to the tube stage? I have a decent knowledge of theoretical electronics (I am a physicist) but my soldering skills are rather basic...

thanks,

Massimiliano

Hi, I can answer your questions:
1) WM8805 is used on board and it's hardware mode, so 24/96 is accepted.
2) There are pads (2.54mm pitch) near module, here is a photo to say. So it's easy to output differential signal.

Attachments

• output2.JPG
    output2.JPG
    31.7 KB · Views: 1,063
That's a pity, I know that there is no audible difference between 24/96 and 24/192, but the issue is that probably it won't always be possible to chose between the 2 formats, and I would prefer to be able to play 24/192 files also. There is no chance that you will offer a version with cs8416?

We have 24/192 board (like AD1853). BTW, compare to the cs8416, wm8805 has lower jitter.

Last edited:
ad1853 does not suit my needs...

Regarding jitter, i see always quoted that WM8805 has 50 ps jitter while CS8416 has 200. But, if you read the datasheets carefully, they are measured differently: for CS8416 it is RMS cycle-to-cycle jitter, while for WM8805 it is RMS intrinsic period jitter.

That is not the same thing: if you read this article