DAC 2496 (AK4393) DAC KIT With CS8416+AK4393+5532

Im almost done with my enclosure.
1elp3.jpg

nezyw7.jpg

What about this "finesse" clean up shunt? Finesse Voltage Regulator Noise! What do you think about it? I like simplistic designs, so I paid attention to it.

It looks good, but I have no experience with shunt regulators yet. Was thinking of doing a Salas or ALSW super reg at some point. This circuit is simpler so may be worth a shot. Are you bypassing or using the onboard regulation on your DAC? Speaking of which, looks like apoopoo999 above is bypassing his. :) Looks good!

Last edited:
I can bypass them if I want. I like apoopoo's work, the problem is that I planned my case for tube pream stage, tube rectifiers, big electrolyteless caps, chokes and... there won't be much space for so huge regulators.

A good thing is that much stuff will be on top, as it is with most tube amps. At least tubes, caps and power trannies will be. Caps are russian MGBO steel casings, they will have their ugly steel casings removed and be put into wood ones poured with parrafin wax inside. It does improve the sound and it's much more eye friendly :)

Last edited:
I can bypass them if I want. I like apoopoo's work, the problem is that I planned my case for tube pream stage, tube rectifiers, big electrolyteless caps, chokes and... there won't be much space for so huge regulators. :)

thanks, take a look at the power supply section of the Dac End AD1865 pcb. He managed to fit 6 salas shunt into a very small board. Someone should start a group buy for a pcb like this, its perfect for this DAC

apoopoo, do you mind sharing the circuit or its version (AFAIK salas shunt has few variations) and the value of the components for 3,3V and 5V output? Thanks!

Nice big casing though. Are you planning for lampization or a discrete output or sticking with opamps?

I used this as a reference for the 5v and 15v
I have the 3.3v at home. I will upload that later.