DAC 2496 (AK4393) DAC KIT With CS8416+AK4393+5532

Hi noob here about to buy a DAC for my PC and use SPDIF from my motherboard and hope it will sound better than my current Mini USB PCM2704 DAC :) have a q about the power requirements tho as it would be neater to run it all from my pc can i just rig up the 12v from my PSU to the rectifier outputs? would i need the 12v regulators?

Hello,been reading the thread and ordered a AK4398 kit.
Going to mod it,I have a bag of Elna serafin 47uF/35v and a bag of Oscon 10uF,wich one of these to use for excanging the 10uF e-lyts on the board?
As I havent gotten the pcb yet,what are the diameter maximum on the biggest e-lyts and the secon biggest one.

regards
Åke

Going to mod it,I have a bag of Elna serafin 47uF/35v and a bag of Oscon 10uF,wich one of these to use for excanging the 10uF e-lyts on the board?
As I havent gotten the pcb yet,what are the diameter maximum on the biggest e-lyts and the secon biggest one.

Hi Åke,

the Cerafines are the most suitable caps but I fear they're too big...

Quite all position can accomodate only 6.3mm caps, though some can be tightly fitted with 8mm ones.

Hi noob here about to buy a DAC for my PC and use SPDIF from my motherboard and hope it will sound better than my current Mini USB PCM2704 DAC :) have a q about the power requirements tho as it would be neater to run it all from my pc can i just rig up the 12v from my PSU to the rectifier outputs? would i need the 12v regulators?

It will definitely sound better than your PCM2704 DAC, I can tell you that for sure, because I also own a DIY PCM2704.

I'm also sure that your PSU's +12V would be powerful enough for the DAC, as it consumes only about 6 Watts on the +12V. On the other hand, the DAC needs a -12V supply as well, on which most PC PSUs can deliver very low amount of power. (mine can do 12W only) However, the DAC consumes only about 1 Watt on the -12V, so it could work, but check your PSU's capabilities first.