line to optical ---> optical to analog - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th February 2011, 02:39 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default line to optical ---> optical to analog

I'm sure this issue has been talked about before but I'm new to this (as of today) and I'm not sure what exactly to search for.
I made a small 2ch 40W/channel amplifier using the TDA7376B IC. It accepts ballanced or unballanecd audio signals. I'd like to make a circuit to take 3.5mm jack, 2 channel, and convert it to an optical signal then on the other end take that optical signal and covert it to a 2channel analog signal that the TDA7376B can use. I have to make over 80' runs and balanced audi signals and unbalanced audio signals are too noisy. I think the blanced noise is comming from my poorly constructed op amp circuit. But in any case I have pleanty of fiber optic cable so I want to go the fiber rout.

I have a reciever that takes the optical signal and coverts it to electrcial and I know I will need an DAC but i'm not sure what specfic IC's I will need. I saw some S/PDIF codec chips, do I need this? Also the optical decoder circuit will be on the same board as the amp so I don't have to run ballacned signals to the chip so what ever is easiest to cover to (bal / unbal) is what I'd like to go with.

Any and all help would be a apriciated.
Old 26th February 2011, 09:46 PM   #2
diyAudio Member