Learning towards MINI DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I am new in DAC but i would like to give it a try during my school holiday.
My goal is to create a mini USB-key size DAC in a very low budget that every students can afford the bill and built themself a unit to play! Stepping this journey, I hope any of you willing to give me some guides.:rain:

I know nuts about this, but i would like to show you guys what i am thinking,
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

However, i have no idea on the upsampling parts that which should fit the bill and the quality.
There are few IC in my brain which are:
*AD1896
*SRC4192
*Or something better?

For DAC section, i have no idea AK4396 is better or CS4398 is better. The reason i choose them because both of this is the cheapest performer that i know. Any other suggestion guy?

Here is the output stage i would like to try after i read up a lot of results from google, AD8620 is used because i really need a smd size and capable to duty below 5Vdc (USB)
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Is there anything wrong or any parts can be remove to minimized the parts count without degrading the output quality ? So that i can have my PCB as smaller as possible:usd:

One question, it there any output stage using discreet design that can work on USB power?

My utmost thankful to all of you who read this:rolleyes:

So your basicaly making a usb only amb gamma 2.

Might as well copy some of the design since its for your own personal use. They have all the parts you need. You just need to simplify the design down to just usb and pick your dac.

By the way usb 5v is very noisy so i hope you know your way around ferrite beads and ldo 4.75v regulators.

Also check out the grub dac and bantam dac since they use some of the parts you listed for usb.