How do I connect a current output DAC to I/V stage single ended - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd September 2010, 07:58 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default How do I connect a current output DAC to I/V stage single ended

Hi,
I have an PCM1798 based DAC which has a passive I/V output stage and I am not very liked it. I want to try the new Zen JFET-based I/V stage and I have a (possibly very easy and dumb) question.

As you know the PCM1798 has differantial current outputs for each channel: IOUT(R/L)+ and IOUT(R/L)- . The Zen I/V has only one input. How can I connect these together to provide an unbalanced output?
I think I must connect the IOUT+ to Zen input and IOUT- to GND. Because I'm not very experienced these kind of circuits, I wanted to sure about this.

Thanks.
Old 22nd September 2010, 08:44 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I did it like this, passive conversion. The DAC don't like large voltage swings, and the 50ohm resistors are a good match. The transformer is a Lundahl. Sounds pretty damn good

The output level is lower than redbook standard, but thats a good thing because you can crank the preamp volume, which means less wiper in the path.

Last edited by SemperFi; 22nd September 2010 at 08:46 PM. Reason: forgot the schematic:)
Old 22nd September 2010, 08:47 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Like this that is:
Old 22nd September 2010, 08:49 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hmm, something is playing with me, cant seem to get the schem up. Perhaps I saved it in the wrong format....
Trying a jpeg.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DACiv.JPG (7.9 KB, 333 views)
Old 22nd September 2010, 10:40 PM   #5
jcx is offline jcx  United States
diyAudio Member