XO analysis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Which measurement techniques should I use to evaluate different crystal oscillators? I have access to some pretty decent spectrum analyzers at work, but I have little experience using them for clock source measurements.

I'd like to compare things like the SiLabs' Si530 "digital" XO to more traditional hi-spec analog XOs.

Thanks,
Borge

Hi glt,

which spectrum analyzer parameters have you used for phase noise measurements? Having consistent window/bandwidth etc is important. And I'd like my measurements to be compatible with the charts you refer to.

Thanks for the link to the Buffalo II. The NEL clock looks like it has fabulous performance. Any experience with it? Also, it would be very interesting to see a Tent clock on the same chart.

In my case I'm clocking 4xPCM1704 and one input on a Spartan3 FPGA. I'm currently using only series resistors (with a resistive divider option for the FPGA when I use 5V XOs).

I was also recomended to consider the NB3N551 distributor:
http://www.onsemi.com/pub_link/Collateral/NB3N551-D.PDF
What do you think?

Thanks,
Borge

Borge,

I wish I could have access to those equipment. All I've done is a theoretical analysis relying on data sheets and compare each clock on an equal footing (so the comparison can be meaningful).

But please share your findings here.

Regarding the part, the noise figures look decent, but you need to compare with the same frequency and range. I would guess it could double the jitter of a clock like the Crystek 950 in Buffalo II

Which measurement techniques should I use to evaluate different crystal oscillators?

If I were to look at one specific measurement it would be phase noise, particularly in the 1 to 100Hz region. This is really the critical area, and the area that manufacturer's specifications (purposefully) don't usually cover.