Behringer DCX2496 digital X-over - Page 334 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th September 2012, 01:26 PM   #3331
yoke is offline yoke  Croatia
diyAudio Member

o.k...
I have read some, but not all the tread...
and since this tread starts couple years ago...I start to think about replacing DCX2496 dac's with new ones...something up to 100$ for two channels ?...

Is it posibile...
just to take I2S of the DSP and connect some exterenal DAC with I2S interface ?
or is it just to complicated ?

I'm new at this...
I have found service manuals for DCX...
And I'm just thinking out loud

I have search net but didn't see that any one owercome internal DAC of DCX
Old 10th September 2012, 02:01 PM   #3332
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

What's wrong with the DACs? They are far and away not the weak point which is why people have been concentrating on the things which are. #1 is the output analog electronics. #2 is the input analog electronics. #3 is the digital receiver. #4 is the clock.

Take care of 1 and 2 and you're 99% of the way there.
Old 10th September 2012, 02:09 PM   #3333
puppet is offline puppet  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SY View Post
But it is. If you put voltage amplification after the DAC, as Behringer did, the levels will be too high for home use unless they're digitally attenuated. This compromises S/N and audibly so. Gain structure is just wrong for home use.