Behringer DCX2496 digital X-over - Page 313 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd September 2011, 03:53 AM   #3121
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxworks View Post
I posted a request, just on its own, asking about a 'lights out' option. no replies ;(

I plan to do this myself; and have a remote control that enables/disables this.
Hi Linux,

I must have missed that post.. Lets see.. I'm no expert, but I imagine if the level is hi enough to trigger the input red LEDS, and you are not attenuating, adding gain or EQ anything on the DCX, then the signal will be the sam and still light up the output red LEDS too,, That's what I find anyway,, and I am confident that it's just "padding" on the DCX output LEDS and the actual signal has not reached 0dB or beyond..

I have analysed a lot of the FLACS that caused red lights and none of them are at 0dB or beyond.. And since I am not EQ'ing or adding gain, I am not worried that the output red LEDS are lighting up too.. If I was adding gain or EQ, then maybe grounds for concern..

If I am not adding any gain or EQ, then why would the signal be bigger on the outputs?? So if red lights on input, then I imagine red lights on output??

Ta
CM
Old 23rd September 2011, 04:10 AM   #3122
Pano is offline Pano  United States
diyAudio Moderator

If you are running sweeps, yes. But for music you shouldn't see many reds on the outputs.
That's going to depend on the music and where your crossover points are, of course.
Old 23rd September 2011, 04:57 AM   #3123
diyAudio Member

Quote:
I had suspected that the 5V supply is not all that bad. Sure, we can do better, but would you really hear it?