Gamma-1 DAC build thread

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After looking at the different DAC kits available, I chose the Gamma1. This is my first project, so I wanted good instructions and support- Ti was very helpful and the instructions have been excellent. I chose the SPDIF Dac-only option, because I don't need USB connectivity.

Some of the parts, notably the wall wart that Ti recommends, are no longer available, so I was forced to use a switching regulator rather than linear, which Ti says will be a bit noisier. This is OK for now, but I'll likely build a suitable power supply if it causes problems.

I had to order from Mouser, Digikey and AMB (Ti's site) to get all the parts, but everything showed up last week. The boards and parts from Ti were perfectly packaged and labeled.

I started with the SMP components. Once I got the hang of getting the iron to the part before the flux dried, I moved through this pretty quick. Everything checked out with the DMM, the only trouble I had was getting solder to stick to the iron.

I worked through the resistors and am currently populating the caps. The boards are clearly labelled with part numbers and polarity where required, so it's going very quickly. I'll post a pic later tonight.

Here are some pics of where I'm at. I'd appreciate any feedback on my soldering.

Attachments

• IMG_2333.JPG
    IMG_2333.JPG
    126.8 KB · Views: 425
  • IMG_2329.JPG
    IMG_2329.JPG
    145.5 KB · Views: 415
Ti got back to me via email, I had to reflow the joints on an SMP and all is good. Five minutes of listening, and this is a BIG improvement over my on-board sound (Realtek Audio on a Gigabtye P35-DS3R, which isn't bad to begin with.)

I'll post pics of the finished DAC and more listening impressions shorty.