ezDAC v.1.5 Builders Thread - Page 12 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th December 2009, 06:14 PM   #111
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Hi, I'm getting +43.6v / -43.6v across c1b & c2b.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:18 PM   #112
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
That's way too high. With 15V input, it should be about +/-23V after the rectifier. It looks like you are inputting the double AC voltage. You are using only ONE transformer with 2x15V, right? 115V windings in parallel?

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:21 PM   #113
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6h5c View Post
That's way too high. With 15V input, it should be about +/-23V after the rectifier. It looks like you are inputting the double AC voltage. You are using only ONE transformer with 2x15V, right? 115V windings in parallel?

Ray
I have the 2x15v outputs in series, with the centre hooked into AC3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:23 PM   #114
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Strange. What AC voltage do you measure across AC1 or AC2 and AC3?
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:35 PM   #115
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AW...I3dmJkaw&hl=en

Here's how i got it hooked up. I'm getting ~ 15vac between ac1 and ac3/ and ~ 15vac between ac3 & ac2.

about ~32vac between ac1 and ac2.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:45 PM   #116
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
The centre tap should be connected to AC2
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:51 PM   #117
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Your right. But I'm still getting 7v / -7v.

I've hooked it up every possible way I think now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 07:06 PM   #118
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Is the voltage across C1b and C2b lower now? Most voltage regulators have an over-voltage protection, and they shut down if the input voltage is too high. Could be the case if it's still >40V. If it's more in the region of 25V, then it's o.k. The actual value is not very important, because it's the no-load voltage, and it depends on the no-load behaviour of the transformer. If the output is still +/- 7V, try loading them with a 1k resistor and see if the voltage comes on. R3 and R5 are quite large (240R) and therefore the minimum load current spec is not met. Voltage across R3 and R5 should be around 1.25V at all times.

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 08:47 PM   #119
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Waaait a minute... did you use 240 ohm and 1k1 according to the BOM on ezdiyaudio.com? No wonder you only get +/-7V! Wrong values! Duh!

For +/-15V output, change R3 and R5 to 100 ohm, that should do the trick!

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 01:41 PM   #120
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6h5c View Post
Waaait a minute... did you use 240 ohm and 1k1 according to the BOM on ezdiyaudio.com? No wonder you only get +/-7V! Wrong values! Duh!

For +/-15V output, change R3 and R5 to 100 ohm, that should do the trick!

Ray
Ok, yup I used the BOM on ezdiyaudio.com. What's the colour code for 240 ohms? I'll have to check it out when I get home and replace them.

Thanks,
JG
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F3 Builders Thread Melon Head Pass Labs 523 31st May 2014 03:05 PM
EZDAC is singing now!!! ezkcdude Digital Source 217 11th December 2011 06:45 PM
A-X IP Issues (split from Builders thread) tomchaoda Pass Labs 107 16th October 2011 02:05 AM
ezDAC chipsets xaudiox Group Buys 0 27th May 2009 06:45 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2