ezDAC v.1.5 Builders Thread - Page 11 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th December 2009, 06:12 PM   #101
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Ok, I forgot the ezdual does have fuses on the board. So I should be fine with the 100ma fuse for the other 9v regs then.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 11:05 PM   #102
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
It depends, if the transformer has dual 115V primaries, you may have to put them in parallel for 115V input. The manufacturer's datasheet should make this clear. It's not very common to leave one primary floating for 115V. Also, if it has dual secondaries, you can put them in parallel as well. That way you can take full benefit of the transformer's rating.

The rating of the fuse is based on the rating of the transformers that you use. Look at the total VA rating of all the transformers that you use in your DAC. Divide the sum by 115V, and this gives you the nominal current. In this case, choose the fuse rating the same, because you will not be fully loading the transformers. Because they form an inductive load, always use a slow-blo fuse.

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 04:45 AM   #103
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Antek - AN-0105

Here the transformer I picked up for the opamp section. It has 2 x 115v primaries.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 12:34 PM   #104
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Yep, you should connect the primaries together, red to red and black to black. Same goes for the secondaries if you're going to connect only one PSU module to it.

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 01:54 PM   #105
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
That's the wrong transformer.

I've picked up the Antek - AN-0115 for the opamps

and

Antek - AN-0112 for the 9v sections.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 02:33 PM   #106
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Doesn't matter . This goes for all of them!
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:03 PM   #107
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
hmm, not sure why I'm getting only +7/-7 v out of the ezdual with the 2x15v transformers i'm using. (the two inputs are tied together as well.)

I tried with the outputs in parallel and in series (connecting it to AC1 & AC2).

Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:32 PM   #108
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
Yes, plenty of suggestions

You have to use all three AC inputs of the ezDual to make it work. Connect the two 15V windings in series, green to blue, and connect this junction or centre tap to AC2. Connect the remaining green and blue wires to AC1 and AC3, which goes to which doesn't matter. Should work now! Primaries go in parallel.

Regards,

Ray
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:41 PM   #109
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
I've tried all 3 wires.

I'm still getting +7/-7 on the outputs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2009, 06:44 PM   #110
6h5c is offline 6h5c  Netherlands
One Seriously Addicted to Audio and Electronics
diyAudio Member
 
6h5c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heerhugowaard
What's the voltage across C1b and C2b?
__________________
Gonna buy my little girl a pink soldering-iron
The new DOS-CFP board is out!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F3 Builders Thread Melon Head Pass Labs 523 31st May 2014 04:05 PM
EZDAC is singing now!!! ezkcdude Digital Source 217 11th December 2011 07:45 PM
A-X IP Issues (split from Builders thread) tomchaoda Pass Labs 107 16th October 2011 03:05 AM
ezDAC chipsets xaudiox Group Buys 0 27th May 2009 07:45 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2