NeoY2k's ESS Sabre DAC platform - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th January 2009, 12:24 PM   #1
NeoY2k is offline NeoY2k  France
diyAudio Member

Default NeoY2k's ESS Sabre DAC platform

Hi everybody!

Some of you already knew I was drawing boards for the ESS Sabre. And some of you wanted some. So here is all about this project!!!!

- DIY use?

In fact, I'm a sound engineer that studied electronics for 5 years before switching to sound... I'm not really experienced to say the truth. But I'm doing my best!

I'm creating a full system for how most sound engineers work now (at least in France): oscillating between live sound reinforcement, live recording, studio recording, field recording... So it's a platform of high performance converters / interconnections, that can also transmit over long distances, and where everything can be chained. Its center network part is the Dice from TC.

I took too long to release that DAC board... I'm going to work harder now. Had not much time unfortunately.

What does that mean?

What I'm making right now are prototypes. I'm not going to create a "diy" company. That means I won't have much boards to spare...

The other point being that, before selling these boards to you, I'm going to build them and first check if they work, and if they perform adequately. But to save on PCB cost, some of these boards don't have mounting holes... They weren't designed to be sold. They just are designed to work, and to be integrated in larger boards.

These designs are not free. I'm keeping them to make my full system, even if there's no rocket science in them.