OP275 opamp replacement help. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2008, 06:34 AM   #1
Glen1 is offline Glen1  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default OP275 opamp replacement help.

I just have an enquiry about a replacement for a OP275 op amp.
I have a Musiland DA10 which uses the OP275 opamp and I have read that this op amp is only satisfactory and gains in performance can be made by swapping it out for a different model. I'm new to the diy game so just looking for advice on different options and the best way to go about this project.
I have attached a photo with the op amp right in the middle. The dac has already had the caps chaged to blackgates.

Ta,
Glen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc07859.jpg (57.7 KB, 839 views)
Old 28th November 2008, 06:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Glen. There is a wide range of opamps which will work and sound different from what you have. Better? Who knows? The OP275 has lots of fans for its mellow sound. An AD8620 will sound dramatically different and possibly better if you want more detailed and upfront sound. Are you comfortbale desoldering SMDs?
Old 28th November 2008, 07:07 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by analog_sa
Hi Glen. There is a wide range of opamps which will work and sound different from what you have. Better? Who knows? The OP275 has lots of fans for its mellow sound. An AD8620 will sound dramatically different and possibly better if you want more detailed and upfront sound. Are you comfortbale desoldering SMDs?