Digital active filtering using PC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Easily done, use biquads or (probably better in some ways) convolution with a suitable impulse response which will let you easily also provide delay compensation and the like.

The biquad approach needs doubles in the feedback path and will benefit from some sort of denormal removal code if running on a pentium (FP denormals are really expensive), plenty of example code in the musicdsp archives.

For the convolution approach produce the impulse by doing a complex to real inverse FFT (libfftw is good), or by doing overlap/add directly in the frequency domain.

Regards, Dan.

I don't really understand your post (though I'm new to this- butnot new to audio). What I am interested in myself is software that can be run on a small computer that will provide digital crossover filters for a three-way speaker system. Using this would probably require three sound cards to output the signals to each driver and of course the software would have to be able to rout the signal to each separate sound card or to different channels of a single sound card if it had enough discrete channels. Ican not write software myself. I have built high quality speakers but used passive crossovers from Madisound.-----tony111

This has actually been covered fairly extensively here. The biggest thread is entitled something like 'A Howto for PC Xover', although since it runs to the thousands of posts it may not be the most concise place to look for info. Some search terms you might want to use to identify appropriate threads would be 'Allocator' (software from Thuneau that does crossovers), 'convolver' (fir engine for Windows), BruteFIR (fir engine for Linux) and 'vst console' (VST Host that many folks use under Windows)

There really are 2 different aspects to this problem
a) designing the xover filters
b) running the xover in real-time.