USB based DAC project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th February 2008, 11:30 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default USB based DAC project

Hello everyone,

I am new to electronic design and I have to build an audio circuit for a college project.

I have to design and build a USB based hi-quality audio DAC.

After having a mini research I found the PCM2205 IC from Texas Instruments that does the whole job and more. I wouldn't like to use this IC though because it will be very easy. I may do it at the end but i would like to try to buid some of the part myself and not use one chip for the whole project.

I would like to find an appropriate USB module and build the DAC on my own(ideally).

Is the UM232R USB module appropriate for my project?http://www.ftdichip.com/FTProducts.htm
Can you suggest me any other way of interfacing a DAC to USB

I would really appreciate any help either on the USB part or on the DAC part of the circuit (part numbers, circuits, links, ...)

Thank you
Old 10th February 2008, 04:28 AM   #2
Clutz is offline Clutz  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Re: USB based DAC project