wideband transformers suggestion for output stage for dac or cd players?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

Can anyone suggest some brands of transformers for the output stages of either a dac or cd player?

Wide band ones seem to be the choice but can anyone with experience with them explain why?

What's good; transformers with copper wire vs silver wire or both silver and copper wire?

What's the difference in performance between a transformer and a toroidal one?

What's the best material for the core?

Thanks

Hi ,

I am curious to hear your experience about those DACs ( in general)
with I/V conversion made using only a transformer.
What is in your opinion the difference in sound respect using only a little resistor followed by a triode ?
And what is the difference from both respect a active I/V conversion made with a transistor ? :angel:
I'm a newbie on those circuits and I'm searching to learn .........

thanks,
Paolo

Actually best audio note dacs use passive I/V conversion instead a resistor conversion, than they use tube output amplification, that tells a lot about that kind of configuration.