Chamfering surface-mount drivers?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm working on my first speaker build and studying how to install the drivers. The drivers are Markaudio Pluvia 7 (Markaudio Alpair-7 Gold Cone 4" Full Range) and I plan on surface mounting them in particle board enclosures that are about 5/8" (16.5mm) thick. The dimensions look like they call for a 100mm diameter hole and then the screws are 6mm out from there (on a 112mm diameter circle).

My concern is that if I follow the recommendation from the plans and chamfer the back of the hole at 45 degrees then there will be at most a 6mm thickness of particle board where the screws are going in. That seems like not very much particle board to be screwing into. This post suggests that they are M3 screws.

mMarKenP7-extents.gif

Am I missing something because I'm new at this? Does everybody do it this way and it's just not a problem? I'm planning to make the chamfer with a file, so I could conceivably leave the full thickness around the screw holes, but I'm not sure if that's sonically acceptable. If it wasn't a speaker, I'd use some adhesive to help take some of the weight off those screws, but again I'm too new to know if that's okay.

Thanks for any help you can offer the new guy.

-Neil N0FN

Last edited:
I'm a firm believer that this is very important with shallow mounting depth / cone profile FR drivers, and have been doing it for at least 15 years.

This could be an opportunity to espouse use of high quality BB or equivalent plywood - which has far better screw retaining qualities that close to edge of driver opening, but as GASCo notes above, you can scallop the chamfer around the screw locations.