Where exactly should I add the capacitor?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all - apologies in advance for my ignorance but I'm still new to this game...

I've nearly finished all the cutting of 18mm oak veneered Baltic birch ply for my Dallas II enclosures and am now turning my attention to the fostex drivers (208ez / sigma, and T90a), the R80b attenuator, the wiring.... and the capacitor....

Question is.... can I solder the cap directly to the relevant terminal of the attenuator or would it be better elsewhere?

The attached image is effectively what I will have.

Also.... any advice on whether to go for a 1.0uf or 1.5uf cap initially is hugely appreciated!

Cheers all.

Wayne.

Attachments

• 20171212_074219.jpg
    20171212_074219.jpg
    149.7 KB · Views: 331
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Hi Wayne, since there is only the one component I don't see any issue soldering it direct to the attenuator. The bigger the cap the lower the tweeter will play, 1.0 - 1.5uF means it will be rolling off at a high frequency, I assume to fill in the top end where the fostex is drooping. I suspect it is largely a personal preference thing. Perhaps someone who has built will chime in.

I'm not sure if this would be best in the multiway, or the full-range forum...

Tony.

You can solder it to the attenuator, or you can solder it to the connector on the rear panel of the enclosure. Or you could screw a terminal strip to the inner wall and solder it there with wires running to the two other places. What really matters is the part is secure and supported, not just hanging from a solder terminal. Yes, ther are plenty of speakers that solder a cap to the tweeter terminal and let it hang, but to me that is not good practice in speaker building.