Old radio -> bluetooth speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i recently started to look in to DIY speakerbuilding after i found a old radio at my old grandparents house. It is not working and i dont know much about radio circuts. So i was thinking about renovate it and build it to a bluetooth speaker to my dad as a christmas present, so he can have it as a memory of his parents.

I want it to sound really good and not make it to complicated as i have no experience in this field. But i have an idea on how i will do it, but i propably need some guidance if this is any good and tips from you guys.

Plan:
I thought about building a sealed build as this seemed to be the easiest way. So i would seal the back with some wood and have a low frequency driver in the back and a higher frequency driver where the old speaker was. And i was hoping the original potiometers will work.

Questions:
Is my plan ok or is it stupid? i ask cuase i have no experience in the field.
If it will work is it anything i should look out for?
And last, will the old potiometers work on a new system (If they are ok ofc.)?

Every answer and tip will be hugely appreciated, thanks!

Picture of the radio: (It got a little streched in the uploading)
_741192819.jpg

Sketch of py plans:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Joined 2004
Paid Member
Determine if your dad places a lot of sentimental value in the radio in its original condition, before you hack it up. Maybe someone here (not me) can assist in getting it working?
Use only a full range driver for the front.
Save the knobs and find new suitable pots that fit the knob.