Custom Circle Jig for Dewalt Compact Router - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th March 2015, 07:39 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Custom Circle Jig for Dewalt Compact Router

Hi,

I am fairly new to speaker building and after building my first couple speakers using a jigsaw to cut the circles for my drivers I decided to try to find a circle jig for my Dewalt compact router. After doing some research there are not that many options for my compact router for an circle jig. After looking around at some custom jigs online I decided to use my AutoCad skills to design and then have an acrylic laser cutting company cut me a custom jig for my router. I used 1/4" black acrylic and painted in the letters for easier adjustment. After a few tries it seems to work very well. I have a couple minor tweaks that I make and have a new one made. Please take a look at the attached pictures and let my know what you think about the design.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150310_090324.jpg (446.2 KB, 174 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150310_090444.jpg (511.7 KB, 170 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150310_090450.jpg (458.2 KB, 168 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150311_135647.jpg (413.7 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150311_140021.jpg (359.7 KB, 150 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150311_140241.jpg (388.2 KB, 79 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150311_140309.jpg (342.5 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg Router Temp.jpg (218.5 KB, 85 views)
Old 12th March 2015, 03:00 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

This is the same basic design, but at least an order of magnitude more refined, than the jig I showed at

Cutting Circles with Jig Saw

Excellent work!

Dale
Old 12th March 2015, 03:38 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Nice! I need one of those...