Best veneer to dye / stain black

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I need some advice on veneering my pair of finalists.

I am looking to veneer them and stain / dye them black.

What kind of wood is best that will easily take the black color and what do I need to do in order to get black color on the veneer.

I am a total newbie and this will be my first attempt at doing this so any help/ reference/ links will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nishant

Hi,

Good black vinyl wrap is indistinguishable from black veneer,
if you slap a few coats of clear whatever over it for the effect.

Veneering is difficult. Turning it black IMO a crime against nice wood.

Good look with attempting to dye / stain veneer black, without
utterly perfect impossibly difficult mitred veneer corner joints
you will soon find out the difference between grain and
end grain with a completely unfixable vengeance.

If you want black, use paint, which is also your get out clause
when ruining a perfectly nice pair of wood veneered speakers
by attempting to dye / stain them black. *

In all attempts I've seen dye / stain has been a total
disaster, and they have ended up being painted black.

rgds, sreten.

* you need to strip the the finish for dye / stain. Once you
start stripping its all going to go wrong. Finish remains
in the grain, on the surface to a lesser extent and all the
corners are stripped bare. That becomes obvious as soon
as you try applying the dye / stain, they will look awful.

If you want to convert "wood" speakers to black simply
degrease them, rub them down with very fine wire wool
and spray them with black paint - noting good spraying
technique is not the thing to learn on a pair of speakers.

Last edited:
Thank you all for the replies.

Any preference for porosity / pattern of grain?

Beech or quarter cut red oak are the first two that come to mind