first time veneer, CC, Iron, PSA? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th January 2014, 02:49 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default first time veneer, CC, Iron, PSA?

I've read so many veneer threads my head is spinning. I need to veneer some speakers and I've never done it before.

I read one thread and iron on is simply the best and easiest, I read another thread and suddenly contact cement is the be all end all. One thread says veneer saws are by far the best way to cut the stuff and the next thread says don't use a veneer saw, use xx or yy. Then there's several best ways to put glue on, etc.

I've got a set of the Dayton D3s, so they are not all that big, no curves and simple openings, except the port that is flared a fair amount. I'm going with birch and just a clear finish, all sides. I'm thinking of getting the veneer from tapeease and using Titan DX, but I want something that's going to be easy for a first timer with very basic woodworking skills to get an acceptably good end result.

Please help...

Thanks!
Old 28th January 2014, 03:45 AM   #2
guangui is offline guangui  Puerto Rico
diyAudio Member

Cannot help you...Doing my first veneering job also. Was planning on going with the iron method. As yourself, I have read many articles on it, and all different. Look forward to what is recommended...Good Luck!
Old 28th January 2014, 05:05 PM   #3
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

paper backed or raw veneer?