Speaker repair disaster

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I am a bassist and have recently bought a secondhand tech 21 landmark bass amp, I noticed that there was constant distortion and on closer inspection I narrowed the sound down to coming from the speaker's dust cap. So probably rather stupidly I jumped straight into removing the dust cap with a scalpel and after finally getting the thing off, the speaker makes no sound at all. I am afraid I have cut cleanly through the cone it's self and cut the connection to the cone. Is there anything that can be done to salvage this mess? I'll go take some photo's so people can get a better look at what I have done...

Thankyou!

Hi,

I can't see the break that needs resoldering. Fix that first.
A small piece or 2 pieces of wire may help. * Make sure
everything on the cone is glued down after soldering.

To start rub wood glue along the line of damage on the back.
As the pulp softens push the line of damage back flat, don't try
to especially fix the cuts all the way through in one go. Let that dry.
2nd time round from the back redo the areas with a cut. Let that dry.

Clean up the front of the cone and the dust cap. Wood glue around
the dustcap and let it dry. Repeat the rear procedure on the front.
Finally wood glue around the dust cap and reattach it.

FWIW for anyone reading this rattling dust caps are best fixed by
running a line of glue around them, not trying to remove them.

rgds, sreten.

* You might need to scrape off some insulating laquer to get
a good joint to the voice coil wire, depends where it is cut.

Last edited: