Ground loops

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello.First post. Newbie. Been following the site for a while now.
I was interested on reaching "perfect" grounding in op amp circuits, especially for very low level signals. I am an electrical engineer so i opened all my books, resourced all my sources and generally study the subject again. And i came across this reference from a book i thought (and still think) was a good all -around about op amps.
So...
From Operational amplifiers Winder Clayton fifth edition we read in page 271.

10.4.1 Earth loops

In op-amp applications where both signal source and op-amp are separately
earthed, as shown in , an earth loop is created. (very good so far). The obvious remedy is to earth the system at one point only, usually at the op-amp input. (Whaaa??!!)

Another earth loop error, which is noticeable when measuring small signals,
occurs when the power supply current or load current is allowed to flow
through the input signal return connection
. If this happens, an error voltage
is applied to the input of the op-amp via the signal source; this results in
an error at the output. (again very good so far). The proper connection to avoid this effect is shown in Figure 10.2. The signal return and load return should be connected to power supply common as close to the op-amp pins as possible.

In the second paragraph especially it starts by saying one thing first and afterwards it suggests to do the exact opposite.
Am i missing something?

Figure 10.1.png

Figure 10.2.png

I don't get 10.2 because it connects V- to ground, which is usually not a very bright idea.

Linear Audio v.5 has an interesting piece on grounding by Bruno Putzeys, which I think is recommendable. The basic idea is that you have to treat signal ground and signal as constituting a balanced pair.

Figure 2 shows apparently a single supply op amp. This drawings are scanned from the book.