Gotham & Son Mercer Speakers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th February 2013, 08:30 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Gotham & Son Mercer Speakers

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to speaker building, but have woodworking experience. Recently I came across Gotham & Son Mercer speakers and I like the design. I'd like to build my own using dovetail joinery. The problem is I know nothing about speaker design and have no idea what is inside these boxes. Where do I inform myself and start the speaker building process?

Thanks, Seth

Look up Gotham & Son Mercer speakers. I'm not sure if I can link here.
Old 15th February 2013, 09:54 PM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Click the image to open in full size.

Seth, looks like a Tangband 3" in an oversize box, with a big resonant space under it.

Nothing special about the joinery (but joint plywood). Have a look around, lots of proven small speakers you could make using a dovetail

dave
Old 15th February 2013, 11:20 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

[QUOTE=planet10;3371552]Click the image to open in full size.

Seth, looks like a Tangband 3" in an oversize box, with a big resonant space under it.

Nothing special about the joinery (but joint plywood). Have a look around, lots of proven small speakers you could make using a dovetail

Yeah, I saw the Tangband 3" at Parts Express and thought it looked about right.

Where do I find proven small speaker designs you speak of? I can find kits, but few actual drawings/plans with theory explained behind them. I'd like to know some theory but also practical design issues involved in small speaker making. I've seen the Frugal Horn plans in the massive upright configuration.