Chassis Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
For the first time I will be able to buy a chassis for my poweramp projects! My amps will use 2 pairs of MJLx302/x281 type outputs per channel stereo. The power amps are of my own design, and it will also have an attenuator/buffer I designed. I have a 350VA transformer which I can use. Here is the chassis I'm looking at:

Enclosure RE4312H 430x120x314 - Boards | Kits | Components | Modules | Tools

It looks well built and seems reasonably cheap.

The one big hurdle I have may be in drilling and threading the heatsinks. I have to do it right the first time, and I've never done it before. I initially thought I would drill chamfered 2.5mm holes and screw in hex socket M3 screws and let them thread themselves. I'll bet some of you have done this before and can tell me how it goes.

So, any advice?

I have not tried it, but I don't think it's a good idea. With the heating and cooling of the device, eventually it will work loose. It's not hard to tap the holes yourself. There's got to be a kindly diyAudio member near you who has the tap and is willing to show you how to do it. Were you near Connecticut, I'd be happy to help.
Regards,
George