amp without any ic's? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th September 2012, 08:55 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default amp without any ic's?

Sorry for another complete noob question, but if ya dont ask ya dont know....

Is it possible to build a amplifier without using any chips... I have a huge box of bits, most of which i have no idea on what they are or what they do.

Transisters, diod's, caps and resisters and a load of bits i havn't quite worked out yet... Seems a shame to have em all and not be using them.

I just like to have a go at stuff, just to see if i can make it work. Plus it helps me to try and understand schematics. As you can tell i'm not the sharpest tool in the box when it comes to electronics, but always had a strange attraction to it.

I wanted to be an electrical engineer when i was a lad, but as i'm red, green and brown colour blind i never got the oppertunity to do anything about it. Now mid life crisis has set in and i'm doing the stuff i want to do.
Old 11th September 2012, 09:03 PM   #2
adason is offline adason  United States
diyAudio Member

you can built and amplifier with just one transistor and few resistors (you may need capacitors on the input/output, but in balanced mode you can avoid it)...see sun for zen amp by nelson pass, probably the simples seriously good sounding amp I build
Old 11th September 2012, 09:05 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

thanks i'll look it up
Old 14th September 2012, 06:05 PM   #4
diyAudio Member